Site icon NCERT Books, Solutions, CBSE Online, Guide, Syllabus, Sample Paper

SSC CGL Exam Pattern, SSC Combined Graduate Level Exam Exam Pattern Tier 1, 2, 3, 4 PDF

8.1 A candidate may give option for three centres, in the order of priority, within the same region. No request for change of centre will be considered later under any circumstances. Hence, the candidates should select the centres, carefully and indicate the same correctly in their applications. 8.2 The Commission will endeavour to accommodate the candidates in centres opted by him/ her. However, the Commission reserves the right to cancel any of the Examination Centres and/ or add some other Centres, allot the candidates to any centre other than the one opted by him/ her, at its discretion, depending upon the administrative feasibility. 9. SCHEME OF THE EXAMINATION: The Examination will be conducted in four tiers as indicated below: Tier -I - Computer Based Examination Tier -II - Computer Based Examination Tier -III - Pen and Paper Mode (Descriptive paper) Tier-IV - Computer Proficiency Test/ Skill Test (wherever applicable)/ Document Verification 9.1 The Commission reserves the right to make changes in the scheme of examination. 9.2 Marks scored by candidates in Tier-I and Tier-II examinations, if conducted in multiple shifts, will be normalized and such normalized scores will be treated as final and will be used for qualifying the candidates to next stage of examination and to determine final merit. 9.3 Scheme of Tier-I and Tier-II Examinations: Tier Subject Number of Maximum Time allowed Questions Marks I A. General Intelligence and 25 50 Reasoning 60 Minutes (Total) B. General Awareness 25 50 For VH/ OH (afflicted with Cerebral Palsy/ C. Quantitative Aptitude 25 50 deformity in writing hand- Pl. See para- 5.10 of Notice): D. English Comprehension 25 50 80 Minutes

The SSC CGL (Combined Graduate Level) examination consists of four tiers, each with a specific pattern. Here’s a detailed exam pattern for each tier of the SSC CGL examination:

SSC CGL Exam Pattern, SSC Combined Graduate Level Exam Exam Pattern Tier 1, 2, 3, 4 PDF

Tier 1 Computer Based Examination (Objective Type) of SSC CGL Exam Pattern

  1. Exam Mode: The Tier-I examination is conducted online (Computer-Based Test or CBT).
  2. Paper Pattern: It consists of four sections.
  3. Total Marks: The Tier-I exam is of 200 marks.
  4. Total Questions: There are a total of 100 questions.
  5. Duration: The duration of the Tier-I exam is 1 hour (60 minutes). For PwD candidates, the duration is extended to 80 minutes.
  6. Marking Scheme: Each correct answer is awarded 2 marks, and for each incorrect answer, there is a negative marking of 0.50 marks.

Section-Wise Breakdown:

  1. General Intelligence & Reasoning:
    • Number of Questions: 25
    • Marks: 50
  2. General Awareness:
    • Number of Questions: 25
    • Marks: 50
  3. Quantitative Aptitude:
    • Number of Questions: 25
    • Marks: 50
  4. English Comprehension:
    • Number of Questions: 25
    • Marks: 50

Tier 2 Computer Based Examination (Objective Type) of SSC CGL Exam Pattern

Tier-II consists of four papers, out of which Paper-I and Paper-II are compulsory for all posts. Paper-III is for the post of Statistical Investigator Gr. II and Compiler, while Paper-IV is for the post of Assistant Audit Officer/Assistant Accounts Officer.

  1. Paper-I: Quantitative Abilities:
    • Same as Tier-I Quantitative Aptitude
  2. Paper-II: English Language & Comprehension:
    • Same as Tier-I English Comprehension
  3. Paper-III: Statistics (For Statistical Investigator Gr. II & Compiler):
    • Detailed syllabus includes topics related to Statistics.
  4. Paper-IV: General Studies (Finance and Economics) (For Assistant Audit Officer/Assistant Accounts Officer):
    • Detailed syllabus includes topics related to Finance and Economics.

Tier 3 Descriptive Paper of SSC CGL Exam Pattern

The Tier-III examination is a descriptive paper in English or Hindi. It consists of two parts:

  1. Essay Writing: Candidates are required to write an essay of 200-250 words.
    • Marks: 100
  2. Letter/Application Writing: Candidates need to write a letter or an application of about 150-200 words.
    • Marks: 100

Tier 4 Skill Test/ Computer Proficiency Test of SSC CGL Exam Pattern

  1. Data Entry Speed Test (DEST): Candidates are required to have a Data Entry Speed of 8,000 key depressions per hour on the computer. The test is conducted for the post of Tax Assistant (Central Excise & Income Tax).
  2. Computer Proficiency Test (CPT): This test assesses the proficiency of candidates in using Microsoft Office tools. It is applicable for the posts of Assistant Section Officer (CSS) and Assistant Section Officer (MEA).

Important Points:

  1. The final merit list for the SSC CGL examination is based on the performance of candidates in Tier-I, Tier-II, and Tier-III.
  2. Tier-IV (Skill Test/Computer Proficiency Test) is of qualifying nature, and candidates must secure the minimum required speed or proficiency to be considered eligible.
  3. Candidates must adhere to the specified time limits for each section of the examination.

It’s important for candidates to understand the SSC CGL exam pattern thoroughly to prepare effectively for each tier of the examination. Additionally, they should refer to the official SSC CGL notification for the specific year they are applying for to get the most up-to-date information regarding the examination.

Exit mobile version